Three Tips: Keeping Your Cool in the Heat

iceBecause I was thinking about some dumb things I’ve done in my life, I considered calling this post “Zen Dum-dee-dumb.” Put that in the category of dumb titles that once occurred to me. Now — about those dumb things I’ve done: some were major dumb, some were minor dumb, and three are fairly recent hit, miss, and wish dumb.

For the dog-days of summer (where did that expression come from, and did the dogs have any input?), I’m sharing my experience(s) and offering these tips in the hope they may help you keep your cool in the heat.

1) A dumb thing I did, so my advice is to:

Always do physical work in clothes you can toss in the washing machine. Or: Don’t move all the furniture around on a hot day in your 100% rayon Hawaiian shirt that is hand-wash in cold water only hang-to-dry. By the way, I had to move the furniture. Unless you have to, don’t move your furniture, especially when it’s hot.

2) A dumb thing I avoided doing, and you can to if you:

Don’t take it personally. Or: Stay calm when you’re waiting in your car for the guy up ahead to get out of his parking spot and the guy-or-gal behind you leans on the horn for what seems like a full five-minutes-in-hell and you can hear them BLARING at you a “Why-are-you-sitting=there-get-out-of-the-way-you-stupid-**#!!*#!-person!” Just pull up as much as you can without making the person in front of you feel like you’re going to rear-end them, and then in whatever safe and immediate way possible, get out of the way of the crazed-by-the-heat person behind you. Trust me on this, you don’t want to engage with that person. Danger, Will Robinson, danger, danger.

3) A dumb thing I wish I could stop doing and you’ll probably fare better if you:

Stop thinking you can stem the tide. Or: Give up the idea that you can stay on top of all the email and social media and blogs and interesting and important articles and amazing and odd and oh-so-funny photos demanding your time and attention. Remember who and what is important, put those people and those things first, and let the rest flow by. Enjoy it, ignore it, forget it. There’s no controlling it and no getting on top of it. Let it go.

We are now mid-summer. Wishing you a sweet second half of el verano.
Grapeleaves

About Cristina

Urban Addict: London, San Francisco, Portland, Paris. Island Girl: Manila, Manhattan, Maui. Life-long: Writer. Reader. Artist. Dancer.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Tips: Keeping Your Cool in the Heat

  1. TRISTA says:

    I needed to read #3 in particular. I find myself chanting all day long: so much to do, can’t get it all done, so much to do, can’t get it all done. Simply put, that does not = fun. Sheesh! (I also needed #2 — someone got mad at me when I got OUT of their way to help them park in a spot. I was so confused.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cristina says:

      I think #3 needs to be a daily practice for me–both letting go of the idea that I can get it all done, and accepting that the idea persists. As for #2, there’s no accounting for the craziness that goes on out there, especially in the heat. With global warming upon us, this does not bode well. Stay safe and sane, Trista.

      Like

Leave a Reply

