Hiatus, or where I’ve been all this time

I checked into my blog today and discovered I’d been gone for three years. My last post was a review of Michael Jackson’s film This Is It. As posting goes, it turned out to be That Was That. One week after writing that review (Shooting Star), I underwent surgery. I checked into the hospital at dawn and was home again by late afternoon. The surgery was successful and, to be certain of a full recovery, I took my time healing. Slept, ate, gazed out the window and watched the autumn wind stir the tall sea grass. Listened to the wind chimes. Read.

sea grass

For some reason, what I started reading was writing I’d done three plus decades ago. There were no blogs then. I did what writers do—wrote about my life, my loves, the world around me as I saw it. I liked the voice in those pages. I felt compelled to go deeper and write more. The pages became a book: SEX AND SOUL, A Memoir of Salvation.

That memoir has been my main focus for nearly three years. I’m now 23 days away from the handful of minutes when I will start pitching my book to agents and possible publishers. I’ve never pitched anything other than a softball in my entire life. The time has come, the walrus said, for hardball.

Of course I haven’t just been working on the memoir. I did some traveling, helped a couple of friends with curveballs life had thrown at them, made some art, did some stand-up. I wrote and refined a few songs and poems, wrote a short play in 8 hours and saw it produced 10 hours later, and had an essay published in Orion Magazine. Last year I became a regular contributor to Left At the Altar, where I occasionally post my political reflections.

Most recently, I completed an illustration for a terrific new novel, The Book of Jobs, about the afterlife of Steve Jobs. It’s due to be released this fall. You can read all about it, and see my Map of The Cloud, at the author’s website: www.skyeatman.com.

I’ve finally given in and have a Facebook page, and I’m on LinkedIn. Those are works in process; I’m still learning, stumbling along as best I can on the cyber byways of social media.

Now I’ve decided to blog again. There’s no telling what you’ll find here at Zen Crunch. I’ve been told it’s best to pick a topic, but here it’s most likely to be the topic du jour—whatever my mind is crunching that day. My interests have always been, and continue to be, eclectic. But I will endeavor to tell you about them more frequently.

I’d love to hear from you. Anytime.

About Cristina

Urban Addict: London, San Francisco, Portland, Paris. Island Girl: Manila, Manhattan, Maui. Life-long: Writer. Reader. Artist. Dancer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hiatus, or where I’ve been all this time

  1. ASA says:

    I always find inspiration from you dear Cristina….so glad you are blogging and will look forward to hearing more of your thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

